Who We Are


RWAPA was founded in 1981 by the City of Aspen and Pitkin County to pursue development of hydropower resources at Ruedi Reservoir. Although Aspen and Pitkin County eventually carried out hydropower development themselves, the communication and cooperation that had been fostered by the Authority had taken hold and the member entities determined to stay together to represent local governments in matters relating to Ruedi Reservoir and the Fryingpan River. Even then, Ruedi and the Fryingpan were recognized as significant recreational and environmental resources for the Roaring Fork Valley.

Members of RWAPA include Aspen, Carbondale, Basalt, Glenwood Springs, Snowmass Village, Pitkin County, and Eagle County. RWAPA Board members are elected officials from each of the member governments. The staff consists of a part-time director who carries out Board policies and projects. The Board meets on a quarterly basis at various locations around the Roaring Fork Valley. Notes from recent meetings can be found below and financial statements are available on request. Annual operational funding comes from member contributions.  Additional contributions, plus grants and donated services, are used to fund special projects.

For information or inquires contact RWAPA.

Click here for Bylaws.

Click here for Board Members.

 Posted by at 8:08 pm